About the USPE

The European Police Sports Union was founded as Union Sportive des Polices d'Europe (USPE) on the initiative of the French Police Sports Association in Paris on 30 November 1950. Its founder members were Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Great Britain, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and Switzerland. In 1976 the USPE embraced 12 members and this number had risen to 20 by the 23rd Congress held in Berlin in 1990. After the Berlin Wall had come down and Europe had opened up towards the East, it was also possible to admit Eastern European nations to the USPE. Today the USPE comprises 40 European nations. The registered office of the USPE is the office of the General Secretariat in Berlin.

One aim pursued by the USPE is to promote sports within all European police forces and coordinate the preparation, organisation and control of competitions held in 16 different sports disciplines. European Police Championships are held every four years in the following disciplines: basketball, cross country, football, handball, judo, track and field, marathon, cycling, wrestling, shooting, swimming, skiing, tennis, table tennis, triathlon and volleyball. Between 1951 and 2010, an overall number of 169 European Police Championships have taken place in the above disciplines. Another goal of the USPE is to further develop the friendly and professional relations between the various European police forces. The above championships see a multitude of personal encounters instrumental in deepening the understanding of differences in terms of culture and policing as well as problems of joint policing in a Europe that is growing ever closer together. The USPE is supported by the IOC, the UEFA, the EHF and the Federal German Government.

The USPE supports the fight against Doping. The USPE co-operates closely with all national anti- Doping agencies, in which championships take place. On European Police Championships doping controls are accomplished.

The Congress of the USPE takes place at two-years intervals. Each member state sends two delegates. All votes have equal weight irrespective of the size of the country. The next Congress will be held in Turkey in 2014.

Executive Committee

The USPE is run by an Executive Committee. This Executive Committee consists of ten members from ten different member nations: a president, two vice-presidents, a secretary-general, a general treasurer and five committee members. The members of the Executive Committee are elected by secret vote for a period of 4 years. They may be re-elected twice.

Technical Commission
Furthermore, there is the Technical Commission which is chaired by the Secretary-General and comprises eight further members from eight different European nations. The Technical Commission is responsible for the Competition Rules applicable to the various sports disciplines and its members form part of the organising committee and the senior jury during European Championships in their respective sports disciplines. Elections to the Technical Commission are governed by the same provisions as elections to the Executive Committee.